Powerless No CCW Policy? VA University

This is a discussion on Powerless No CCW Policy? VA University within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a student at Eastern VA Medical School in Norfolk and live in a relatively dangerous area. I'm not so much concerned with protecting myself ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Powerless No CCW Policy? VA University

Powerless No CCW Policy? VA University

I'm a student at Eastern VA Medical School in Norfolk and live in a relatively dangerous area. I'm not so much concerned with protecting myself at school, we have a very small campus and have our own police force with every entrance either locked or guarded. I am, however, concerned with walking to my house and to our parking garage. Both are a good distance from my main building with plenty of opportunity for BGs. Also note that I am often walking home or to the parking garage late at night, anywhere in the neighborhood of 10pm to 2 am, after a day of studying. My school has a weapons policy, but does NOT have a regulation.

The policy states:
    It is the policy of EVMS that the possession, discharge, use, or storage of any weapon by students, employees, patients or visitors is strictly prohibited while on EVMS Premises.

Please note the possession of a valid permit to carry a concealed weapon, does not exempt any person from this policy.
    www.evms.edu/media/evms_public/departments/police_and_public_safety/Weapons_-_Approved_5-8-12.pdf

However, here is the opinion of VA AG Cuccinelli in 2011 regarding the University of Virginia's weapons policy:
    Under 18.2-308(0), persons with valid concealed carry permits may not, through a policy, as opposed to a regulation, be prohibited
    from exercising their right to carry a concealed handgun.
    oag.state.va.us/Opinions%20and%20Legal%20Resources/Opinions/2011opns/11-078-Hanger.pdf