Help Choosing a Holster

Help Choosing a Holster

This is a discussion on Help Choosing a Holster within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This is my first post here, even though I've been reading for a while and gained a lot of valuable information. I'm 44, and have ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Ndpuckhead
  • 1 Post By geoexchange
  • 1 Post By Steve S

Thread: Help Choosing a Holster

Help Choosing a Holster

This is my first post here, even though I've been reading for a while and gained a lot of valuable information.

I'm 44, and have been carrying concealed for over 20 years. I am an NRA Instructor and Coach in various disciplines, and have lots of little things hanging on my wall to show how perfeshonal I am :-).

My question is this: Can anyone guide me in the right direction for a concealed carry holster for summer use? I've been trying for over 20 years to find the right combination of gun/holster and still haven't hit it. I've spent tons of money, bought high quality and low - Crossbreed, Galco, etc. I have the normal big box of holsters that don't work....

Here are my conditions and situation:

I usually wear wrangler jeans, boots, and a t-shirt unless I'm in front of a customer. Then it's tucked in dress shirt, jeans, and boots.
    I prefer a .45 ACP in 1911 or Glock 36. Recently started carrying an LCP for comfort and concealability in a Fobus paddle.
    I am driving in my pickup a LOT. Like around 50-60k miles per year minimum for work.
    I am sitting at my desk when I'm not in my truck.
    I own a small farm and am very active outside - tractors, cows, horses, fences, ATV's etc.
    I am in the public a lot - teaching classes, etc.
    I am 230 pounds, 6' tall (but losing weight). I would be considered a big guy by most.
    I live and work around states that require concealment.

Here is what hasn't worked:

IWB - too uncomfortable while driving