Nonresident CCL in Oregon

This is a discussion on Nonresident CCL in Oregon within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a Washington resident and the way I understand it, I'm able to get a Oregon non-resident CCL (since there is no reciprocity). As a ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Stoveman

Thread: Nonresident CCL in Oregon

Nonresident CCL in Oregon

I'm a Washington resident and the way I understand it, I'm able to get a Oregon non-resident CCL (since there is no reciprocity). As a non-resident however, I have to show a "legitimate reason."

My primary reason is that I camp down there a lot and would like to be able to carry for self-defense in the parks. Does anyone have any experience if this is a sufficient reason to satisfy the requirement?

Also, any recommended Counties that are more friendly to non-resident permits? I've heard Grant county is one of the best, but that Linn is good as well. Linn would be much easier to access.

2. Remove Ads

I called a whole bunch of counties and they all told me NO. I work in Oregon a lot driving all over the state at all hours of the day and night, in and out of convenience and retail stores. Told Grant county sheriff's office this, set an appointment and showed up. Had it in my mailbox 15 days later. I would just go down to John Day/Canyon City and do it. Good luck!

Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.