Moving states - Multiple Concealed carry permits

This is a discussion on Moving states - Multiple Concealed carry permits within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi all - was hoping someone might be able to clear something up for me. Currently I live in Michigan and hold a MI CPL. ...

Thread: Moving states - Multiple Concealed carry permits

Hi all - was hoping someone might be able to clear something up for me. Currently I live in Michigan and hold a MI CPL. In the coming weeks I'll be relocating to Indiana - at some point I'll be applying for a license there (if I understand correctly, they have a single license that covers all carry types.. yes/no?). Once I'm an Indiana resident, is my Michigan CPL still valid for carrying in Michigan? If so, does it still allow me to conceal in states with reciprocity with Michigan as well, or does that only apply if I'm a Michigan resident?

Thanks for the help!

VIP Member
    You are going to need to check your state laws to be sure. In most states that I'm aware of, a resident permit becomes invalid when you cease being a resident of that state. So while technically Michigan may not know you've moved, you won't have a valid ID showing that you live there and you will have a valid ID showing that you live somewhere else.

The bottom line is before you do any carrying on any license, you need to find the laws yourself and figure them out. Anyone who gives you any answers is risking a lot less than you are, if they are wrong, so don't take anyone's word about what is and is not legal... However if you are going to, err to the side of caution because a weapons charge in any state could end your carrying days for good.
    NRA Life Member

"I don't believe gun owners have rights." - Sarah Brady