Carry a weapon. New to it.

This is a discussion on Carry a weapon. New to it. within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok so I don't know if this topic as been started yet. If so I can't find one. But I'm new to the conceal/open carry ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Carry a weapon. New to it.

Carry a weapon. New to it.

Ok so I don't know if this topic as been started yet. If so I can't find one. But I'm new to the conceal/open carry thing. Beer done it. I bought a pistol the other week. A ruger sr9c the reason I chose this pistol is cause of the way it feels the trigger pull the safety been in as I'm a newbie. I'm getting familiar with the georgia carry laws and going to go get my permit. After I get really good with safety and what not of my pistol. So what I'm getting to is. What is it like carrying open or conceal? Where to carry on me how to carry what does it feel like? I heard it's a life changing thing. So I'm open to all opinions and thoughts.

2. Remove Ads

Good questions. "What's it like?" can have a lot of answers, though. It's highly subjective. Some don't take to it well, given the responsibility and potential ramifications.

Some suggested reading, books by Massad Ayoob:

• In The Gravest Extreme -- a classic read, on the pros/cons and potential ramifications of carrying a deadly weapon for self-defense.
    • The Gun Digest Book of Concealed Carry
    • Armed: The Essential Guide to Concealed Carry
    • The Truth About Self-Protection

Check out some of the "sticky" posts at the top of the Defensive Carry Guns forum.