Accidentally cocked hammer

This is a discussion on Accidentally cocked hammer within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Was sitting down at dinner tonight and reached down to feel my gun and noticed the hammer was pulled back. I am new to ccw ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree85Likes

Thread: Accidentally cocked hammer

Was sitting down at dinner tonight and reached down to feel my gun and noticed the hammer was pulled back. I am new to ccw and don't carry with one in the chamber (yet) but I know I eventually will. I know the trigger would still have to be pulled but on my DA/SA sig 229 it just wasn't a good feeling discovering the hammer was back unintentionally.

Anyone else have this issue? What to do about it? Do you just decock and move on or what? If I had one in the pipe this would have been very concerning for me.

VIP Member
    I've never had a hammer pull back while carrying. That is odd.

Is it possible that you placed the gun in the holster that way and forgot?

What I would do - decock and then try to figure out how it got that way. How were you carrying? IWB/OWB? What position? Appendix, 3:30, etc.?
    BkCo1 likes this.
    -PEF, a Framer with a Steelie...
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    1. All guns are always loaded.
    2. Never let the muzzle cover anything you are not willing to destroy.
    3. Keep your finger off the trigger until your sights are on the target.
    4. Be sure of your target and what is beyond it.

Need more info to make any suggestions. IWB? OWB? What kind of holster? Where on the clock do you carry it? If concealed, what clothing are you using? Pulling the hammer on a P229 without knowing you've done it isn't the easiest thing you'll ever do. It should have been obvious when it happened.
    OD* likes this.

I carry iwb in comptac mtac with a cant at 4:00. I think when I sat down in my truck the hammer was pushed up against the seat and may have cocked.