Spouse for or against CC?

This is a discussion on Spouse for or against CC? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So I'm pretty new to handguns. Bout mine primarily for home and personal defense. My wife passively supported it, but having never been around guns, ...

Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast
Like Tree111Likes

Thread: Spouse for or against CC?

So I'm pretty new to handguns. Bout mine primarily for home and personal defense. My wife passively supported it, but having never been around guns, she is pretty cautious.

I'm still contemplating CC, as I said in my new member intro. I have NOT discussed that yet with my wife, though. I'm curious to hear how others have handled this with reluctant spouses. Was it tough to get their consent? I suspect my wife won't mind, so long as she can reasonably ignore it.

Others?

Cheers,

KRvW
    BenGoodLuck likes this.

Senior Member Array GeorgiaDawg's Avatar
    My wife was nervous when I brought home my first handgun. She didn't want to touch it or be around it. I told her that if I'm going to have guns in the house, she needs to learn how to handle them so that she can secure or use them if necessary. After some basic gun safety and letting her hold a field-stripped firearm, she saw that it was just an inanimate object that won't do anything to her that she doesn't make it do.

It took her some getting used to, but I think showing her videos and news stories of home invasions helped her realize the need to have a gun on her or near her. She applied for her CCP last week. I'm so proud.
    "For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast." - Ephesians 2:8-9

“The purpose of the law is not to prevent a future offense, but to punish the one actually committed” - Ayn Rand