Indiana: Is a daycare operated by a church considered a school?

This is a discussion on Indiana: Is a daycare operated by a church considered a school? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; The Indiana law is very vague. I know that carry in or on school property is not allowed- but what about a day care? Would ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By suntzu
  • 1 Post By pittypat21

Thread: Indiana: Is a daycare operated by a church considered a school?

The Indiana law is very vague. I know that carry in or on school property is not allowed- but what about a day care? Would it be considered a school? I'm a contractor, and this place where I will soon be working is a church that has a daycare in operation Monday thru Friday. I don't want to cause any unnecessary issues.

I can't answer, really, but I'll give my opinion.

No. A day care isn't actually a place of learning, so I'd say it doesn't count.

But it might count because of the fact that there are a number of small children there, that are being watched by people that aren't the parents. It might qualify depending on who you ask.

But Churches, as far as I'm aware, are not off-limits in IN. So if you're not going to be actually in the day-care area, you might be ok.

Best thing, as always, is to contact a firearm rights attorney in your area and get their opinion.
    Does IN law have anywhere a "definition" of a School?

ETA:

I did a quick look through the IN code section that defines schools, and didn't see anything about daycare. Take a look yourself here:

http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/201...0/ar18/ch2.pdf
    "Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet."
    -General James Mattis, USMC

Church/private schools do allow folks to carry if authorized by the school board or governing head and you are legal to carry firearms in the first place.

Quote Originally Posted by HoosierLife View Post