Employee handbook interpretation

This is a discussion on Employee handbook interpretation within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Working for a new company - the employee handbook has one line about firearms under the description of what would constitute workplace violence "Possessing at ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: Employee handbook interpretation

Working for a new company - the employee handbook has one line about firearms under the description of what would constitute workplace violence

"Possessing at the workplace any firearm, imitation firearm, or any components which can readily be assembled into a fire arm (unless expressly permitted by law). "

thoughts?

My thought is that's a vague way to say if you have a permit, youre in good shape.
    TDH1961 likes this.

VIP Member
    As a former personnel manager I know how difficult it is to write ANYTHING for employees that will be understood by even half of them. This seems to be more vague than what I used to write LOL (what I used to TRY to write?????)

Your manual does not say "unless licensed to possess same". The wording "unless expressly permitted by law" seems rather meaningless.

Suggest you ask for the specific meaning of that sentence...........do not ask if you have a permit and can wear your gun to work, just for the specific meaning of the sentence, particularly the part in parentheses.
    ccw9mm likes this.
    Getting old was not on my list of "things to do" in the Golden Years!

==================

Talking to each other here is good, but taking action is better.

VIP Member
    Quote Originally Posted by bgcole View Post
    ... My thought is that's a vague way to say if you have a permit, you're in good shape.

That's how I would read it. However, it's not my butt on the line if you get outed by your employer.