Oops! Made a small mistake today.

This is a discussion on Oops! Made a small mistake today. within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; My wife has been sick with gastroenteritis for the last 8 days. I've cared for her, keeping her o clear liquids, and when tolerated, soft ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Oops! Made a small mistake today.

Distinguished Member Array Squawker's Avatar

Oops! Made a small mistake today.

My wife has been sick with gastroenteritis for the last 8 days. I've cared for her, keeping her o clear liquids, and when tolerated, soft bland foods. I also have gotten her Imodium, and later Kaopectate, to help with the diarrhea every 10 minutes. But, 8 days is a long time not to get better with gastroenteritis, and time to start at least testing for salmonella, shigella, and ova and parasites. So, I had to take her to Urgent Care today. A bit of a pisser, since I'm a Physician Assistant, and normally I would get a CBC, stool culture and stool for O&P, and given the length of time without improvement , a prescription for Cipro. But, I'm out of work, and since PAs are dependant practitioners, requiring a supervising physician to practice, meaning that I temporarily can't write the orders and script without worrying about practicing illegally. So, we spent the day at Urgent Care, and after several hours, left, with a script for a CBC, and stool for C&S, O&P, and a script for Cipro. Sound familiar? Anyway, when we left, it was almost 5, and the lab offices close around 4. The doc told us that Spring Valley Hospital had a Quest office that was open 24 hours, so I drove my wife there to try to get the labs. We walked in, walked around looking for the lab, and finally found it, and saw that it was closed. On the way out, a security guard asked if we needed directions, and we said no, we found what we needed. As I turned to go out the door, there was the thing that I had missed- on the doo