New to CCW surprised first impressions

This is a discussion on New to CCW surprised first impressions within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been carrying for about nine months and was surprised by a few things. I always thought that I'd carry nothing but full size guns. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree28Likes

Thread: New to CCW surprised first impressions

New to CCW surprised first impressions

I've been carrying for about nine months and was surprised by a few things. I always thought that I'd carry nothing but full size guns. If it's big when you put it away it'll be big when you draw it. Its funny how quickly I went to pocket carrying my wife's guns :) I also assumed that OWB would feel very exposed but it doesn't. For me IWB with a tucked shirt feels much more exposed in comparison. I was also shocked at how easy a 1911 conceals.

2. Remove Ads

My buddy will carry a 1911 IWB he uses a Crossbreed Supertuck and OWB he uses a Serpa with a thumb break. It's all in how he dresses around it.
    gatorbait51 likes this.
    G-d, Make me fast and accurate. Let my aim be true and my hand faster than those who would seek to destroy me. And G-d if today is truly the day you call me home, then let me die in a pile of empty brass.

I mostly carry Snub Revolvers. I have no problem carrying a J Frame/SP101, K Frame, L Frame/ GP100 or my Airweight N Frame Snubs year round. Being Retired I dress fairly casual. That means Fishing Shirts all Summer. Any time that it is cool enough I have on my Duluth Trading Company Light Working Mans Vest. A little cooler and out comes the Flannel Shirts and the Carhartt Vest.

I carry on the belt at 4 O'Clock most of the time. I do not want the muzzle below the top edge of my right back pocket. My holster of choice is a Pancake for Revolvers. I have pretty much went to all Rocky Hill Leather Holsters.