Scenario: In retrospect, what are the legal ramifications?

This is a discussion on Scenario: In retrospect, what are the legal ramifications? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Newbie here, so thank you for your patience. Many years ago, here in Washington State, I was helping a friend move out of her shared ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree38Likes

Thread: Scenario: In retrospect, what are the legal ramifications?

Newbie here, so thank you for your patience.

Many years ago, here in Washington State, I was helping a friend move out of her shared rental house, away from her abusive boyfriend who also rented a room in said house. Both knew that I carry. Boyfriend didn't like me one bit, and knew that his behavior had gone way beyond acceptible, so was... tetchy around me. I had never intentionally threatened him in any way, directly or by implication, verbally or physically, let alone with my sidearm. He had seen that I carry when I had been over to dinner with my friend and was carrying openly in their shared living space. I knew he had noticed because he later mentioned it to my friend.

On moving day, when I (and several other friends) arrived to start carrying out our friend's boxes, boyfriend pitched a fit, ordered me off the property, and threatened to call the cops because I was threatening him just by carrying a gun.

Believing the situation to be one where a violent confrontation was unlikely (there were a few of us there who would have dearly loved for him to start something), I de-escalated the situation by locking my sidearm in my car, showed boyfriend that I was unarmed, and continued on to get my friend moved out. I don't like leaving a firearm unattended, but there were bigger issues to address that day, and the situation was such that the risk was acceptible.