Sight picture or instinct

This is a discussion on Sight picture or instinct within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have only been shooting a very short while, so I am still learning and practicing the basics. For those that have been shooting for ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree85Likes

Thread: Sight picture or instinct

Distinguished Member

I have only been shooting a very short while, so I am still learning and practicing the basics.

For those that have been shooting for 5, 10, 50 or 100 years, how do you line up your shots?

I still take a second or more (I know that is way too long, but I gotta start somewhere), to get my sight picture right.

Do you get the ideal sight picture when you are training for a SD situation, or do a James Bond and point in general direction and get the bullseye?

Also, if it is by instinct, does that naturally come after 1000's of rounds of sight pictures, or 1000's of rounds of pointing in general direction?

Disclaimer: Assume for argument sake the BG is 5 yards away and standing upright and not moving. (I know not quite realistic)
    gatorbait51 likes this.

Long story short... Perfect practice makes perfect. Mostly muscle memory when it kicks in. To hard to type on this thing. Someone will be chiming in with more details I am sure.
    CWOUSCG and gatorbait51 like this.

For me and Im no instructor or anything just been shooting a long time with SD being the primary focus it depends on the distance. 5 yards I dont use sights at all or out a bit farther. 7 to 10 yards ill transition to focus on the front sight both eyes open. Im not going to go actually lining up sights with any intent until Im out past usual SD range like 25 yards and out.