Non-Resident Pistol Permit for Connecticut

This is a discussion on Non-Resident Pistol Permit for Connecticut within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; My question concerns the process I must go through when applying for a non-resident Connecticut State Carry permit given my unique situation. I am currently ...

Thread: Non-Resident Pistol Permit for Connecticut

My question concerns the process I must go through when applying for a non-resident Connecticut State Carry permit given my unique situation. I am currently a resident of New Jersey attending college in Connecticut. I have been told that my two options are to either apply as a resident for the state carry permit in Connecticut or apply for a non-resident Florida carry permit then a Connecticut non-resident permit. My preference is to apply as a non-resident since I do not plan on residing in Connecticut after college.

Under the DPS-799-C instruction form, it indicates that I must hold a valid permit or license to carry a pistol or revolver issued by a recognized United States jurisdiction. Does this mean that I can obtain a non-resident Florida carry permit then apply for a Connecticut state carry permit even though I am not a resident of Florida? Obtaining a New Jersey permit is near impossible without a "valid reason" so it would not be an option in my situation.

That's what the non-res application says; there is no written requirement there which states where that "recognized US jurisdiction" is. In fact, given CT's own two-step permit process, you might try applying in the town where you reside as a student. Assuming success in getting the town permit, you could then follow the non-res application process, using the town permit.