Sign Confusion

Sign Confusion

This is a discussion on Sign Confusion within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello all. I'm a CHL newbie from Ohio. I frequently see these signs posted in restaurants, stores, etc. LIQR_firearm.jpg Now to me, the information on ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Sign Confusion

Sign Confusion

Hello all. I'm a CHL newbie from Ohio. I frequently see these signs posted in restaurants, stores, etc.

LIQR_firearm.jpg

Now to me, the information on that sign contradicts what is said on http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/ohio.pdf :

"Licensed Class D liquor permit premises if you are consuming beer or intoxicating liquor or are under the
    influence. If you are not consuming, you may carry unless there is a conspicuous sign prohibiting carry.
    Possession of a concealed firearm is allowed in a retail store with a D-6 or D-8 permit as long as the
    concealed carry license holder is not consuming liquor. Class D permits are generally issued to an
    establishment that sells alcohol for consumption on the 13 premises. In any event, do not consume beer or
    intoxicating liquor before carrying a concealed handgun into a licensed premises."

Could someone please elaborate on meaning of the posted sign? It looks to me like as long as one isn't drinking, there should not be an issue. Thanks!

I think you are correct.

2923.121 Possession of firearm in beer liquor permit premises - prohibition, exceptions.

A) No person shall possess a firearm in any room in which any person is consuming beer or intoxicating liquor in a premises for which a D permit has been issued under Chapter 4303. of the Revised Code or in an open air arena for which a permit of that nature has been issued.
    (1) This section does not apply to any of the following: