Does age matter?

Does age matter?

This is a discussion on Does age matter? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I may be opening pandora's box by divulging this information, but I am a 17 year old young man, and am currently doing pre-research for ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree127Likes

Thread: Does age matter?

Does age matter?

I may be opening pandora's box by divulging this information, but I am a 17 year old young man, and am currently doing pre-research for my concealed carry permit. (Permits are now being issued to 18 year olds in alabama)

A little background before the question, I have been shooting guns for several years. And I am aware of [and getting used to] the things that come along with the act of concealed carry. (legally, morally, and spiritually) As well as the responsibility that I would be taking on. Regarding attentiveness, practice, safety, as well as inconspicuous carry.

And my reason for carrying is,

A. I work in a retail hardware/feed store, and we frequently have drug addicts come to the store looking for the components to make meth and other drugs, and while at work generally the only other people there with me, are the owner and his wife who are both 85 and 79. So I feel the need to be hyper vigilant when at work, as I am basically the only one physically capable of stoping a robbery. A role I do not relish having, but take seriously.

And then B. My dad does carry and is the protector of our home, but after the multitude of reading I have done, i've noticed that my dads methods of home defense are not as thought out and effective as they might could be. And instead of saying anything to him (and risk sounding rebellious or to prideful) I want to join him in the responsibility of protecting our home, my mother and siblings, without questioning his methods or effectiveness. And preparing myself for when I move out at the same time.