Gun laws in GA

This is a discussion on Gun laws in GA within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; OK so i'm new to all this gun stuff. Hubby enjoys fixing them up and collecting them. I do know how to shoot if i ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: Gun laws in GA

Gun laws in GA

OK so i'm new to all this gun stuff. Hubby enjoys fixing them up and collecting them. I do know how to shoot if i had to but personally they are for protection and not intended to kill someone. I also believe everyone has a constitutional right to have them. We have been put in a aweful position, Hubby got terminated due to having his firearm in his locked vehicle at work one day. Did he go to work that day with ententions on killing someon NO! He is license to carry. Sonny Perdue past a Law in 2010 that gives gun owners their right to carry in your locked vehicle at work as long as the premises is not gated or secure. In this case it is an open parking lot. The law was also revised in 2013 with no changes. I realize GA is a right to work state so we are not looking to get his job back. But do believe his Constitutional Rights have been violated. Can someone please offer some advise. Because we can't seem to find a lawyer who will take this case.
    BenGoodLuck likes this.

2. Remove Ads

Without knowing more of the facts, it would be hard to make any kind of judgment. You may be able to find a lawyer through the folks at Georgia Carry : An information clearinghouse for Georgia Firearms License issues and news. The issue would probably revolve around private property rights and the rules of your husbands workplace. Was the parking lot private property (owned by the company) and did they have rules prohibiting the carry of guns on their property? Ultimately, our Second Amendment rights do not trump other peoples private property rights.