Best way to carry?

This is a discussion on Best way to carry? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I will be taking a Defensive Gun class at the end of Jan ’07 so it will most likely answer this question or at least ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best way to carry?

Thumbs up Best way to carry?

I will be taking a Defensive Gun class at the end of Jan ’07 so it will most likely answer this question or at least address it. But I would like the opinion of the seasoned carry people on this site. As for CC, I know about strong side carry and practice, practice, practice. But for a newbie like myself, it feels easier to draw from a cross carry than strong side. Is this just cuz I am a newbie or is it personal preference, is one 'better' than the other?

So I guess the actual question is “How do you carry? Strong side / cross carry, waste band / fanny pack / ankle / etc?

If there is a current thread on this subject, please point me in the right direction. Thanks.

2. Remove Ads

Look around you'll find some discussion on the topic. Personally I carry strong side around 3:15.

Cross carry has a couple of disadvantages:

1) It can be difficult to draw safely on the range. If you're lined up with a bunch of other people on the firing line, it's almost certain that you're going to sweep the person to your left (assuming you're right handed) when drawing from a cross draw or shoulder holster. If you want to practice this way you should really stand and the extreme left end of the line.