Work Carry Method

Work Carry Method

This is a discussion on Work Carry Method within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I carry a Glock 19 IWB pretty much all the time that I am not working. Currently I am a cook, a job which involves ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Work Carry Method

Work Carry Method

I carry a Glock 19 IWB pretty much all the time that I am not working. Currently I am a cook, a job which involves lots of bending stooping etc with an apron on. This makes printing almost inevitable. Therefore I do not carry 95% of the time at work (only when I open the restaurant alone). I am getting a G26 to have a smaller CC gun. I was thinking about ankle carrying it. I know that it is not a very assessible method particularly in extreme close quarters combat. Luckily my H2H is trained from several years of Ving Tsun, and there are knives all over the kitchen to use if the need should arise.

What do you folks think? Does anyone have a similar kind of job who carries?

Also, I should mention getting a gun that is more concealable is not an option, I trust my life to a Glock and I am going to roll with it. Although, now that I'm thinking about it, a pocket 380 could allow me toget some rounds moving until I could manuever to a covered or concealed position, where I could access the Glock from my ankle. I know SD engagements are usually very quick though....Thoughts anyone?

I tried an ankle holster for a while with a tiny mouse gun and felt like I had an anchor strapped to me. I suppose I maybe could have gotten used to it over time. I do have a cop friend that ankle carries a G27, so I guess it's feasible. It wouldn't be the fastest draw, as you point out, but it would be better than being unarmed.
    I have a very strict gun control policy: if there's a gun around, I want to be in control of it.
    Clint Eastwood