Carry on school grounds - RI

This is a discussion on Carry on school grounds - RI within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; With softball season starting up for my little ones, I am finding my schedule being filled with practices/games that will be taking place on school ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Carry on school grounds - RI

With softball season starting up for my little ones, I am finding my schedule being filled with practices/games that will be taking place on school fields and school sponsored facilities. In wanting to do my due diligence and remain within the letter of the law, I have done some digging. From what I understand from the following laws, I am allowed to carry on school grounds. Since I am new to this state and certainly not a lawyer, I am asking for you opinion on the reading of the following provisions, specifically section (b):

11-47-60 Possession of firearms on school grounds. (a) No person shall have in his or her possession any firearm or other weapons on school grounds.

(2) For the purposes of this section, "school grounds" means the property of a public or private elementary or secondary school or in those portions of any building, stadium, or other structure on school grounds which were, at the time of the violation, being used for an activity sponsored by or through a school in this state or while riding school provided transportation.

(3) Every person violating the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than five (5) years, or shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000).