CCW Practice question...

CCW Practice question...

This is a discussion on CCW Practice question... within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a CCW noob (about 1 month ) and I'm not sure how to practice drawing my pistol... I have an IWB worn at the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CCW Practice question...

VIP Member

CCW Practice question...

I'm a CCW noob (about 1 month ) and I'm not sure how to practice drawing my pistol...
    I have an IWB worn at the 3 o'clock position, and covered with either an untucked long sleeve shirt or square cut Hawaiian style shirt. To begin the draw, should I reach across my body with my left hand and pull the shirt up to access the pistol, or do I hook the back of my right thumb under the edge of the shirt and pull it up until I can get a proper grip?
    Any input from experienced CCW'ers would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Rick

1952 - 2006

CCW Practice Question

You should always use your off hand to clear the cover garmet by lifting it well above the grip of your gun, meaning pull it up to your armpit so that you don't cross it with the muzzle. As you draw, your support hand should then go to your standard two hand grip.
    Heroes are people who do what has to be done, when it has to be done, regardless of the consequences

"I like when the enemy shoots at me; then I know where the ******** are and can kill them."
    ~George Patton

DE OPPRESSO LIBER

VIP Member
    Thanks, acparmed....that makes perfect sense. I guess the thumb thing would only be used if the off hand were "otherwise occupied" in a SHTF situation

1952 - 2006