Flying to Maine

Flying to Maine

This is a discussion on Flying to Maine within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello. I'm a Colorado resident with a Colorado CWP, and I carry a pocket pistol every day, and have a hobby of taking various tactical ...

Like Tree15Likes
  • 1 Post By dsvo
  • 2 Post By Estil
  • 2 Post By gasmitty
  • 2 Post By Badey
  • 3 Post By GunnyBunny
  • 1 Post By dsvo
  • 1 Post By WC145
  • 1 Post By 357MagMan
  • 1 Post By hdhnict
  • 1 Post By mudshark100

Thread: Flying to Maine

Flying to Maine

Hello. I'm a Colorado resident with a Colorado CWP, and I carry a pocket pistol every day, and have a hobby of taking
    various tactical pistol classes offered. I shoot at least once a week.

In the end of May, I'll be honeymooning for a week in Maine, Vermont, and New Hampshire. I'm about to apply for a Maine
    non-resident CCW, and cross my fingers it will come through in time.

My plan, assuming the Maine CCW comes through, is to check my pistol as luggage, following the TSA rules. But airlines don't
    like ammo, in my experience, so I won't be bringing any ammo.

We'll probably be flying into Bangor and I'll rent a car, and find a gun shop were I can buy a box of defensive ammo. Okay, fine.
    But when we fly out, I need to dispose of a box of defensive 380s, presumably unused. Any suggestions? Comments?
    gatorbait51 likes this.

Stop at a LGS or pawn shop, explain why you need to get rid of the ammo and give it away (in box it came in). I think someone will probably take it off your hands. All you would be out is cost of ammo. just a suggestion......
    hdhnict and gatorbait51 like this.
    If it don't seem like it's worth the effort, then it probably ain't.

Hmmm... I never had a problem moving ammo on airlines, as long as it was in OEM or comparable boxes and didn't exceed their weight limit. I'd chance bringing your own .380 fodder along.