Foreign Trade Zones

Foreign Trade Zones

This is a discussion on Foreign Trade Zones within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; As you can see in my profile, I am a truck driver by trade. I will leave the specifics out here to protect my privacy ...

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By 2ndAmendNut
  • 3 Post By Aceoky
  • 2 Post By Aceoky
  • 1 Post By denclaste

Thread: Foreign Trade Zones

Foreign Trade Zones

As you can see in my profile, I am a truck driver by trade. I will leave the specifics out here to protect my privacy but I have a question. I drive 600+ miles a day, to and from an automotive plant. My carry permit is valid in both my home state and the state which I visit every day. Company policy is the typical "no guns" stance but that isn't my concern.

From what I understand, automotive plants are considered "foreign trade zones". What are the legalities of carrying on a foreign trade zone?

John

“Sticks and stones may break my bones but hollow points expand on impact!” ~ Me
    Aceoky likes this.

Foreign trade zones are for Tax purposes as I understand it, they're not " Non US soil" - as the Ky Toyota plant seemed to have to learn the hard way ( I think that is the question??)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    In Gibson v. Commonwealth, 237 Ky. 33, 34 S.W.2d 936 (1936), the High Court stated:  “[I]t is the tradition that a Kentuckian never runs.   He does not have to.”

In the United States, FTZs provide Customs-related advantages as well as exemptions from state and local inventory taxes.

Free trade zone - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

AFAIK - the plant falls under the state laws of whatever state it's located within
    2ndAmendNut and sdprof like this.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------