Killing a human is not a game.

This is a discussion on Killing a human is not a game. within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Yes, I am a newbie. Yes, I have had my CCW for two years but only started carrying regularly for a month. I bought P239 ...

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Killing a human is not a game.

Distinguished Member

Killing a human is not a game.

Yes, I am a newbie. Yes, I have had my CCW for two years but only started carrying regularly for a month. I bought P239 last week and took it to the range today. It's a .357. My groupings were pretty decent. However, the power of the gun and the "accuracy" of my head and chest shots brought a real unease in my soul. I remember our CCW classes (four classes, four hours each). The first six hours were basically spent on talking us out of getting our carry permit. "You kill a human and your life as you know it is over forever." said the instructor. I know there is a lot of bantering on slamming the "BG's" but popping those rounds in the target's torso was real unsettling. Yes, I know and agree with all the arguments of my family over him. I agree and I am not some "touchy feely" metro sexual. But, man, what a serious responsibility we have in carrying a weapon. It's really not a game and the BG doesn't get up after we run out of ammo.
    Ok, sermon's over. Any comments?

2. Remove Ads

Administrator
    There is a whole lot of people who just dont get this...some are here on this board. But your right. Seems to me that a lot of people get caught up in being a hero, and wanting to be and do what they see on TV.
    Read through some of the threads, you will see some posts that illustrate this mindset. You may come out fine and smelling like a rose, but you will be a different person once you have taken another human's life. Some things you just cant explain, some will never get it until they have been there.