Will my Height and Weight be a factor in concealing?

This is a discussion on Will my Height and Weight be a factor in concealing? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to concealed carry and I have not yet picked up a holster for my 1911 5'' so my question is will my ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will my Height and Weight be a factor in concealing?

Will my Height and Weight be a factor in concealing?

I am new to concealed carry and I have not yet picked up a holster for my 1911 5'' so my question is will my 5'5 140lbs midget body be a factor in concealing my Springfield? I want a IWB holster but am not sure if I will print a lot and also if my hip might get thrown out of whack.

2. Remove Ads

Nah, everybodies carry method is a highly individual thing. Much will depend on how you dress. If you can dress casual while carrying it will be a much easier job with your 1911. Wish I could give you an easy answer on holster choice but different holsters work better for different folks. The right holster shouldn't bother your hip barring physical problems.

A good approach is to call and talk with some of the better holster makers, many are on this forum. They've seen alot and are suprisingly honest about who their products work best for.

Good luck!
    If you stand up and be counted, from time to time you may get yourself knocked down. But remember this: A man flattened by an opponent can get up again. A man flattened by conformity stays down for good. ~ Thomas J. Watson, Jr.

you shouldn't have a problem...the only issues I had when I carried a 5" 1911 IWB was occassionally getting pinched when I sat down (due to the length of the slide).

a 1911 is a great gun for a smaller-frame person due to the thin profile.

Just make sure you get a quality holster and belt.