Maine CCW laws in jeopardy
This is a discussion on Maine CCW laws in jeopardy within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; A Maine Rep (forgive me but I don't remember his name, but he is a Republican) has brought forth LD 778. To paraphrase, this law ...
March 6th, 2007 08:35 PM
March 6th, 2007 08:35 PM
March 7th, 2007 12:38 AM
It's all a bunch of B.S.
I am curious, however, as to what the 6 hours would include...a class?, hours at the range?,...formal training?
I'd move...to FL...wait a minute...I'm in FL, guess I'm pretty lucky!
"That I cannot do."
"Give this to, uh, Clemenza. I want reliable people, people who aren't going to be carried away. After all we're not murderers in spite of what this undertaker thinks."
Certified Glock Armorer
NRA Life Member
March 7th, 2007 12:59 AM
If it is not in the US Constitution then the Federal Government should not be doing it.
"Carrying a gun is a social responsibility."
March 7th, 2007 01:05 AM
sounds weird. is there already a class that's optional or a new class that will form because (bite my lip) of the bill getting passed?
What's this button do?
March 7th, 2007 08:01 AM
Training events in Maine are basically nonexistant, so to keep my CCW, do I have to travel out of state? We also have no reported incidents of crimes committed by a CCW or accidents. Obviosly, another solution in search of a problem. I'll be contacting my state reps today.
I can't help but notice that the Rep. who introduced the legislation lives in the area of the 2 big, rich gun clubs in the state. I wonder who will be offering the required (presumably expensive) training classes?
March 7th, 2007 08:38 AM
This message was sent to all my reps, senator, senate president and speaker of the house.
I have concerns about pending legislation.
Legislative Document 778, would require all new applicants and renewing holders of a concealed firearms permit show documentation they have completed a firearms safety course that includes at least "6 hours" of course work.
This bill also removes exemptions to current handgun safety course requirements for an applicant or holder of a concealed firearms permit who can personally demonstrate knowledge of the subject matter of the course requirements and a person who received basic firearms training as a member of the Armed Forces of the United States.
Maine has no identifiable problem with incidents of crimes committed by Concealed Carry Permit holders, or firearms related accidents among permit holders. In that light, this proposed legislation is obviously a solution in search of a problem.
Training events in Maine, such as those being proposed, are few and far between, and are expensive. So in order to keep my Concealed Carry Permit, do I have to travel out of state for training? If many law abiding citizens have maintained these permits without incident for years, what is the impetus for changing the policy? One can infer that in the absence of crime or safety issues, the only intended outcome is to discourage new applications for and renewals of Concealed Carry Permits. Let us disarm criminals and leave the law abiding citizens alone.
Please vote against Legislative Document 778, and please reply to this message.
Thank you for your service and consideration of this matter.
March 7th, 2007 11:03 AM
They will do the same in Kansas when you renew!!! Steve48
March 7th, 2007 02:36 PM
I'm on it!
However..... (evil thoughts)
I won't tell my wife if it goes down in flames.....
"Yes, honey, the state requires that I take handgun I, II, And III at the sig academy, LFI 1, LFI 2, etc".....
March 7th, 2007 02:42 PM
Here's a link to the bill:
An Act To Enhance the Qualifications for a Concealed Firearms Permit
Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
Sec. 1. 25 MRSA §2003, sub-§1, ¶E, as amended by PL 1993, c. 524, §8 and PL 2005, c. 236, §§3 and 4, is further amended to read:
E. Does the following:
(1) At the request of the issuing authority, takes whatever action is required by law to allow the issuing authority to obtain from the Department of Health and Human Services, limited to records of patient committals to Riverview Psychiatric Center and Dorothea Dix Psychiatric Center, the courts, law enforcement agencies and the military information relevant to the following:
(a) The ascertainment of whether the information supplied on the application or any documents made a part of the application is true and correct;
(b) The ascertainment of whether each of the additional requirements of this section has been met; and
(c) Section 2005;
(2) If a photograph is an integral part of the permit to carry concealed firearms adopted by an issuing authority, submits to being photographed for that purpose;
(3) If it becomes necessary to resolve any questions as to identity, submits to having fingerprints taken by the issuing authority;
(4) Submits an application fee along with the written application to the proper issuing authority pursuant to the following schedule:
(a) Resident of a municipality or unorganized territory, $35 for an original application and $20 for a renewal, except that a person who paid $60 for a concealed firearms permit or renewal during 1991 or 1992 is entitled to a credit toward renewal fees in an amount equal to $30 for a person who paid $60 for an original application and $45 for a person who paid $60 for a permit renewal. The credit is valid until fully utilized; and
(b) Nonresident, $60 for an original or renewal application, except that a person who paid $80 for a concealed firearms permit during 1991 or 1992 is entitled to a $20 credit toward permit renewal fees. The credit is valid until fully utilized; and
(5) Demonstrates to the issuing authority a knowledge of handgun minimal firearms safety by completing a firearms safety course. The applicant may fully satisfy this requirement by submitting shall submit to the issuing authority, through documentation in accordance with this subparagraph, proof that the applicant has within 5 years prior to the date of application completed a course that included handgun firearms safety offered by or under the supervision of a federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement agency or a firearms instructor certified by a private firearms association recognized as knowledgeable in matters of firearms safety by the issuing authority or by the state in which the course was taken. The course must be at least 6 hours in length and include relevant state and federal law, basic defensive marksmanship, gun safety, civic responsibility, appropriate conduct while carrying a firearm and the moral and ethical issues surrounding the potential use of firearms as a means of self-defense. A course completion certificate or other document, or a photocopy, is sufficient if it recites or otherwise demonstrates that the course meets all of the requirements of this subparagraph.
As an alternative way of fully satisfying this requirement, an applicant may personally demonstrate knowledge of handgun safety to an issuing authority, if the issuing authority is willing to evaluate an applicant's personal demonstration of such knowledge. The issuing authority is not required to offer this 2nd option.
The demonstration of knowledge of handgun safety to the issuing authority may not be required of any applicant who holds a valid State permit to carry a concealed firearm as of April 15, 1990 or of any applicant who was or is in any of the Armed Forces of the United States and has received at least basic firearms training.
Sec. 2. Concealed firearms permit renewal. Upon the effective date of this Act, a holder of a concealed firearms permit issued under the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 25, chapter 252 must meet the requirements of Title 25, section 2003, subsection 1, paragraph E upon renewal of the holder’s concealed firearms permit.
Sec. 3. Criteria for firearms safety course. The Department of Public Safety shall adopt major substantive rules pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A to establish criteria for a firearms safety course required under Title 25, section 2003, subsection 1, paragraph E, subparagraph 5, that, along with any requirement listed, must include a minimum of 6 hours total of the following instruction:
1. Two hours of basic defensive handgun skills employing real firearms and using either electronic marksmanship targets or live-fire at an established range. Lesson content must include basic defensive marksmanship skills, safe firearms handling and safe firearms storage;
2. One hour of strategies for effectively responding to or avoiding a violent confrontation;
3. One hour of emotional and physiological responses to a confrontation, including understanding and accommodating stress factors when engaged in a confrontational situation;
4. One half hour of firearms selection criteria applicable to firearms commonly employed in self-defense situations, with emphasis on firearms reliability and proper cleaning and maintenance techniques;
5. One hour of state and federal firearms law that must be taught by either a licensed attorney or qualified law enforcement officer concerning the possession and ownership of firearms, the legal parameters governing the use of deadly force and exercising the right of self-defense responsibly; and
6. One half hour discussing area training opportunities where a student may receive continuing education, training and practice in firearms use.
This bill requires all new applicants and renewing holders of a concealed firearms permit to show documentation they have completed a firearms safety course that includes relevant state and federal law, basic defensive marksmanship, gun safety, civic responsibility, appropriate conduct while carrying a firearm and the moral and ethical issues surrounding the potential use of firearms as a means of self-defense. This bill also removes exemptions to current handgun safety course requirements for an applicant or holder of a concealed firearms permit who can personally demonstrate knowledge of the subject matter of the course requirements and a person who received basic firearms training as a member of the Armed Forces of the United States. Finally, this bill directs the Department of Public Safety to adopt rules to establish requirements with specific components for a 6-hour instruction course in firearms safety.
He's my senator, too. He get lots of letters form me, and phone calls. Possibly personal visits as well.
Last edited by jamz; March 7th, 2007 at 02:48 PM.
March 7th, 2007 04:02 PM
Good intent...but the road to H3!! is paved with good intentions...but unless the gov't plans on funding this program, it sounds like a BIG bill to pay for each CCW permit holder.
Plus--where is the mandate that PD "must" provide this training. It requires them to come up with a syllabus, but not to conduct the actual training.
If passed, you will see bad execution of a good idea...and you'll pay for it
March 7th, 2007 05:27 PM
Texas has some strange ccw laws too and don't think you are imune and become complacent because you live there! everyone has to stay active.
Originally Posted by Timmy Jimmy
Train and train hard, you might not get a second chance to make a first impression!
I vote for Monica Lewinsky's Ex-Boyfriend's Wife for President.....Not!
March 7th, 2007 08:51 PM
Thanks for this thread, I spread this around to a couple of other firearms boards.
Odd that I didn't get an NRA-ILA alert about this.
March 7th, 2007 09:52 PM
Okay, now you're just rubbing it in......
Originally Posted by retsupt99
March 8th, 2007 05:58 AM
Here is what I got off of the NRA web site. Jamz-thanks for posting the info. Sorry to all for not having it readily available when I originally posted.-Jeff
Maine Legislature Considering Making Right-to-Carry More Difficult!
Monday, March 05, 2007
Senator Karl Turner (Cumberland - R) has recently introduced legislation, Legislative Document 778, that would require all new applicants and renewing holders of a concealed firearms permit show documentation they have completed a firearms safety course that includes at least "6 hours" of course work!
This bill also removes exemptions to current handgun safety course requirements for an applicant or holder of a concealed firearms permit who can personally demonstrate knowledge of the subject matter of the course requirements and a person who received basic firearms training as a member of the Armed Forces of the United States!
Please call your state legislator today and urge him or her to oppose this legislation. Your legislator can be reached at the following toll-free numbers: Maine House of Representatives 1-800-423-2900 and the Maine Senate 1-800-423-6900
Some people are alive simply because it's illegal to kill them.
If guns cause crime, then pens cause illiteracy
Rock Island Armory 1911 compact tactical, Ruger GP 100, Glock 27
March 8th, 2007 11:55 AM
By DaveH in forum The Second Amendment & Gun Legislation Discussion
Last Post: February 5th, 2010, 05:54 PM
By Riccur in forum New Members Introduce Yourself
Last Post: May 11th, 2009, 08:54 PM
By MrWhite in forum New Members Introduce Yourself
Last Post: July 20th, 2008, 09:37 PM
By Pro2A in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
Last Post: June 25th, 2008, 08:12 AM
By TheSamurai in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
Last Post: March 6th, 2008, 09:31 PM
Search tags for this page
ccw laws in maine
maine ccw form
maine ccw law
maine ccw laws
maine ccw renewal
maine ccw rules
maine ccw training requirement
me ccw rules
title 25 m.r.s.a. ? 2003 (1) (e) (5
title 25 m.r.s.a. ? 2003 (1) (e) (5)
title 25 m.r.s.a. ? 2003 (1) (e) (5),
Click on a term to search for related topics.