Non Resident purchasing?

Non Resident purchasing?

This is a discussion on Non Resident purchasing? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi, I've tried finding the answer to this with no luck, hopefully somone here can help. I'm a FL resident with a cwl. I now ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Non Resident purchasing?

Non Resident purchasing?

Hi,

I've tried finding the answer to this with no luck, hopefully somone here can help.

I'm a FL resident with a cwl. I now have to spend about a week each month in PA. I know I'm covered with reciprocity to carry, but can I purchase a pistol in PA? Since I have to go through NY every time I come up north, flying with a gun is not an option. Ideally, I'd like to purchase and leave the pistol in PA. Thanks for the help.

Regards,
    Al

I don't see any reason why you couldn't.
    Discretion is the better part of valour; and a virtue beyond reproach.
    Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

IANAL, but as I understand it, the Gun Control Act of 1968 prohibits anyone from buying a firearm that doesn't fall into the 'Sporting Purposes' category from a dealer outside their home state. Most defensive pistols are not considered to have a sporting purpose, so you probably can't pick one up in Pennsylvania.

However, this is the exact sort of situation the federal peaceable journey statute (Title 18 U.S.C. Section 926A) was written for. It should allow you to move a pistol from Florida to Pennsylvania via New York. Just keep it unloaded in a locked case (which you'll have to do to transport it via airplane anyway) and put it in the trunk of whatever vehicle you're using to get to Pennsylvania. That's probably a lot of trouble to go through twice a month going to or from Pennsylvania, but since you seem to be willing to purchase an extra pistol anyway, just buy one in Florida and take it to Pennsylvania once and keep it there.

Senior Moderator