Empty Holster

Empty Holster

This is a discussion on Empty Holster within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I had a bit of an embarrassing (and somewhat scary) situation today. In fact, it's embarrassing enough that I'm a bit reluctant to post it ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Empty Holster

Empty Holster

I had a bit of an embarrassing (and somewhat scary) situation today. In fact, it's embarrassing enough that I'm a bit reluctant to post it here. However, its nowhere near as embarrassing as taking a chunk out of your hand with an ND (though for a little while today, I thought it might have been) and I figure that if Eric can fess up to that in the interests of helping somebody learn something, I can follow his example endure some (well justified) ridicule for what I did today.

I'm a graduate student at the University of Utah, which gives me a rather flexible schedule, and allows me to carry my gun at school (gotta love Utah's great preemption law). Today I spent most of the morning futzing around doing a bunch of little stuff (including reading this forum) before leaving for school. When I finally left, I was in a bit of a hurry, but I made it to class on time (I'm the instructor for this class, so it really doesn't behoove me to be late). After teaching my class, I decided to go get some lunch before my office hours started. About halfway over to the student union I (finally) noticed something funny. It took a second to figure out what it was, then I realized my holster was empty!

Oh crap! I must have left my gun at home.

Then, a couple of seconds later, the other possibility hit me.

OH CRAP! What if I didn't leave my gun at home? Could it have come out or gotten left somewhere, sometime during the morning?