Frangible Ammo Issues

Frangible Ammo Issues

This is a discussion on Frangible Ammo Issues within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello All I was wondering what possible issues that could result from using frangible ammo (ie: Extreme Shock, MagSafe and Glaser) for CCW. My biggest ...

Frangible Ammo Issues

Hello All

I was wondering what possible issues that could result from using frangible ammo (ie: Extreme Shock, MagSafe and Glaser) for CCW. My biggest concern would be legal issues resulting from and overzealous, politicaly minded prosecutor bent on outlawing CCW permits. My concern is, would they use the frangible ammo as a legal hook to hang me from. Any thoughts and/or experience?

KRobb

6000' above sea level - Albuquerque NM USA
    I'm a former prosecutor and a current defense lawyer. As a defense lawyer, I would answer any such allegations of evil ruthlessness by pointing out how the ammunition is designed to be safer to passers-by.

As a shooter and someone who's worked on over 100 handgun killings, though, I'd tell you to lose the frangible ammo. Get something that is guaranteed to penetrate adequately. Read up on what Dr. Martin Fackler (probably the world's leading expert on bullet wounds in human bodies) had to say about Glasers . . . it was something along the lines of, if someone died from one it would be about three days later, from peritonitis.

1952 - 2006
    Though I have no personal experience with frangible ammo in an actual shooting, I have read numerous accounts of what happens with it in many occasions where it is used.