Defensive Carry banner

Tight Situation

3K views 22 replies 20 participants last post by  hardluk1 
#1 ·
So I like to fancy myself as a cowboy. Actually I'm a professional horse trainer and rodeo as much as I can. My problem is I'm not sure the best way to carry a concealed weapon. I wear pretty tight wranglers, and I always wear a long sleeved button up shirt, I wear a vest now and then but not in the summer as it gets pretty hot. I was thinking small of back but wondered what people thought. I'm pretty tall and skinny and will carry a medium sized semi-auto, probably 9mm or 10mm, any advice would be great, thanks

#2 ·
Considering your wardrobe small of back is about your only opiton.

But it is not a good one considering what you do for a living. I wouldn't want to be thrown from a horse and land on my back with a gun there. You could possibly do some damage to your back. Is an ankle holster in your boot a vialbe option? That's about the only thing I can come up with unless you want to go to a real small Kel Tec for instance that you can slip into a pocket. It would probably print in tight jeans but maybe that's not a problem where you work.

#3 ·
I can think of three methods that might work:

- fanny pack
- belly band
- pocket

The fanny pack probably wouldn't work too well with your wardrobe/image, so I'd scratch that.

The belly band would be a viable option, especially with western style shirts that have snaps instead of buttons. I don't know if it would be secure enough for riding horses or other critters, especially if they weren't a "willing participant" in the festivities.

Something small, in your pocket, would be secure and probably wouldn't hurt too bad if you landed on it. However, that pretty much limits your choice of weapons. Also, tight pants might make access a challenge.