Defensive Carry banner

What would you expect from a Concealed Carry Association?

3K views 30 replies 23 participants last post by  BIGSAM 
#1 ·
I work in the Association Industry. I am a CAE (Certified Association Executive) which means I took a 4 hours test about all things association related.

There was a post on here last week about CC conventions and that post has got me thinking that we need a really good CC Association.

I would like to know what you think a CC association should do for it's members, and if it did all those things that you think it should do how much would you be willing to pay for dues yearly?

#2 ·
The biggest thing for me would be representation. Keeping us abreast of the issues related to firearm ownership and providing resources. Lobbying for more reciprocity and the like.

Representation at the local and state level would be the biggest thing I would look for. Letting the politicians know we are responsible, we vote, and we are organized.

#7 ·
We have an organization here in Virginia that is all that and more. The VCDL. VCDL spearheaded the effort to make Virginia "shall issue" back in the early 90's, has submitted and successfully lobbied for pro-gun legislation statewide, and keeps it's members informed and mobilized concerning gun-rights issues, and local governments overstepping their bounds. We have been successful in getting pro-gun candidates elected to statewide office. We have also taken the fight to Bloomberg, and have been in the forefront of trying to get the Dept of Interior to write the National Park carry rules to conform to the states where the parks reside.

We do not have a legal assistance program per-se but several attorney's are executive members and we have gone as far as to begin legal proceedings on behalf of members when required.

The VCDL is a good template to follow for a state gun-rights organization.

Membership is $25/year

#3 ·