Out of State purchase

Out of State purchase

This is a discussion on Out of State purchase within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a Va resident travelling to Ga for a few weeks. Should I see a gun that I want in Ga is it legal ...

Thread: Out of State purchase

Out of State purchase

I am a Va resident travelling to Ga for a few weeks. Should I see a gun that I want in Ga is it legal to make a purchase even though I live in Va?

VIP Member
    For moderm firearms if you bring a signed copy of your transferring FFL's license and have them ship it to that FFL it is fine. Otherwise, no. You could arrange it when you are there I suppose as well, depending on how well you know the dealer handling the VA side of the transfer.

When I travel out of state and suspect I may be shopping around for something I get a signed copy and take it with me.

Oh also if it is black powder or an air gun you are ok. Are you a C&R licensee? Then a C&R is ok.

I'm sure I didn't cover all the bases, but for modern long arms you cannot purchase and take possession in another state not contiguous to your own and transport it back to your home state. For handguns you cannot do that period, must go through an FFL in VA.
    Procrastinators are the leaders of tomorrow.

Quote Originally Posted by Scott View Post
    I'm sure I didn't cover all the bases, but for modern long arms you cannot purchase and take possession in another state not contiguous to your own and transport it back to your home state. For handguns you cannot do that period, must go through an FFL in VA.
    I was under the impression that the contiguous state rule had changed and now you can buy a long gun in any state (from an FFL) as long as it is legal in your home state???

JD
    Administrator
    Quote Originally Posted by raysheen View Post