Defensive Carry banner

Out of State purchase

1K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  maclean3 
#1 ·
I am a Va resident travelling to Ga for a few weeks. Should I see a gun that I want in Ga is it legal to make a purchase even though I live in Va?

#2 ·
For moderm firearms if you bring a signed copy of your transferring FFL's license and have them ship it to that FFL it is fine. Otherwise, no. You could arrange it when you are there I suppose as well, depending on how well you know the dealer handling the VA side of the transfer.

When I travel out of state and suspect I may be shopping around for something I get a signed copy and take it with me.

Oh also if it is black powder or an air gun you are ok. Are you a C&R licensee? Then a C&R is ok.

I'm sure I didn't cover all the bases, but for modern long arms you cannot purchase and take possession in another state not contiguous to your own and transport it back to your home state. For handguns you cannot do that period, must go through an FFL in VA.

#3 ·
I'm sure I didn't cover all the bases, but for modern long arms you cannot purchase and take possession in another state not contiguous to your own and transport it back to your home state. For handguns you cannot do that period, must go through an FFL in VA.
I was under the impression that the contiguous state rule had changed and now you can buy a long gun in any state (from an FFL) as long as it is legal in your home state???

#6 ·
type 03 FFL also known as the curios and relics collecting license. it is $30 good for 3 years and lets you buy C&R clasified guns without having to transfer through an FFL. It also entitles you to dealer prices at a lot of places so lots of people get them just for the discounts.

#9 ·