People have zero sense of security

This is a discussion on People have zero sense of security within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am an old fasioned door-to-door salesman. I sell high end food so I travel in upper middle class to mansion type neighborhoods. It never ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: People have zero sense of security

People have zero sense of security

I am an old fasioned door-to-door salesman. I sell high end food so I travel in upper middle class to mansion type neighborhoods. It never ceases to amaze me how many women and men will open their door to a complete stranger and invite him in.

I carry a Taurus PT1911 in a UBG IWB holster, a can of pepper spray, and some dog biscuts, just in case. These people just open up when I knock without a second thought.

About one in a hundred shows any real security sense by opening a window and questioning what I'm doing there. I don't sell much meat to these people.

If these people knew they had a stranger with a gun in their homes they would absolutely freak. Many times I leave like we are best friends. I have their credit card numbers or checking account numbers. I have phone numbers from them and their friends as well as addresses and when they will and won't be home.

I would guess that 99% of guys like me are perfectly legit. But what about the other 1%. I never thought about it until I took this job and found how easy it is to get all kinds of personal information from almost anybody.

Tell your wives, girlfriends, and loved ones to think twice before whipping open the front door just because that stupid little bell rings. If it's my smiling face they see they are probably safer for that 20 minutes than they are at any other point in the day until you get home.

But it won't always be me.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Anubis's Avatar