Pro carry and 2A students

This is a discussion on Pro carry and 2A students within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I was just wondering how many of us are students, I am currently working on my Bachelors in finance, I have had many opportunities to ...

Thread: Pro carry and 2A students

Pro carry and 2A students

I was just wondering how many of us are students, I am currently working on my Bachelors in finance, I have had many opportunities to share my views on being Pro Second Amendment and Pro-Carry. I am sure many of us have written papers on this subject. If that is the case and you wouldn't mind sharing your papers, PM me and I will send you my email, I will collect them and send them to anyone who would like copies.

2. Remove Ads

I'm a pro-2A graduate student. I can (and do) carry at school thanks to Utah's excellent preemption law. However, I have never written a paper on the subject, nor even mentioned it to any of my fellow students or professors. If someone else brings up the subject, I just try to keep my mouth shut (though it can be hard sometimes). I'm planning on pursuing a academic career, and given the generally liberal bent of most universities, I've decided to keep my 2A views and interest in firearms as low profile as possible. I don't want to apply for a faculty position somewhere and have someone on the hiring committee say, "we can't hire him, he's some kind of gun nut."

I don't blame you I actually go to a private school in Utah, most of the people I deal with are all working professionals , some are LEO's, and they carry all the time. You would be right to protect your image in a scholastic setting, I would hope though in Utah you would be able to be open about firearms, but it doesn't hurt to protect yourself. I just get ignored because I'm "that redneck from Wyoming". A badge of honor I wear proudly.