Virginia Tech "Gun Free Zone"-- Law or Policy?

This is a discussion on Virginia Tech "Gun Free Zone"-- Law or Policy? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; As most of you know I am a Virginia Tech student. I was reading through the statutes today and noticed something odd about schools/universities. Virginia ...

Thread: Virginia Tech "Gun Free Zone"-- Law or Policy?

Virginia Tech "Gun Free Zone"-- Law or Policy?

As most of you know I am a Virginia Tech student. I was reading through the statutes today and noticed something odd about schools/universities. Virginia State law says I can't carry (note the bold text):

* No person shall carry a concealed handgun onto the premises of any restaurant or club as defined in 4.1-100 for which a license to sell and serve alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption has been granted by the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board under Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia, nothing herein shall prohibit any owner or event sponsor or his employees from carrying a concealed handgun while on duty at such restaurant or club if such person has a concealed handgun permit. NOTE: only concealed handguns are prohibited - openly carried handguns are allowed
    * Private property when prohibited by the owner of the property, or where posted as prohibited. Violation is a trespass charge and not a firearms violation
    * Carrying dangerous weapon to place of religious worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held unless you have "good and sufficient reason." There is no known definition of what a good and sufficient reason would be. Violation is a minor crime, punishible by a fine of up to $100.
    * Courthouse. Violation is a high-level misdemeanor