University of Utah Campus Gun Policy

University of Utah Campus Gun Policy

This is a discussion on University of Utah Campus Gun Policy within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Thanks to Utah's excellent preemption law, it is possible to carry a concealed weapon on the University of Utah campus (and the campuses of other ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: University of Utah Campus Gun Policy

Thumbs up University of Utah Campus Gun Policy

Thanks to Utah's excellent preemption law, it is possible to carry a concealed weapon on the University of Utah campus (and the campuses of other state universities) without violating the law or University policy. I'm a UofU student and I take full advantage of this.

This excellent situation came about despite fierce resistance from the university administration. Despite the law clearly prohibiting any state agency from banning guns, the university had to be dragged kicking and screaming through the courts before they agreed to change the rules and allow students, faculty and staff to carry firearms on campus. Thus far, the university has not been very friendly towards the idea of concealed weapons.

Given this background, I was pleasantly surprised to get the following e-mail from the University today.

Quote Originally Posted by University of Utah
    Questions about Weapons on Campus

The Campus Security Task Force was appointed by President Young to address concerns regarding campus safety in the face of news reports about violence and weapons on college campuses. One of its charges was to provide some guidance to the campus community regarding weapons.