Negligent Discharges

This is a discussion on Negligent Discharges within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've always heard that there is no such thing as an accidental discharge, it's always a negligent discharge, particularly the way modern firearms are designed ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Negligent Discharges

Negligent Discharges

I've always heard that there is no such thing as an accidental discharge, it's always a negligent discharge, particularly the way modern firearms are designed with the safeties most modern guns incorporate.

Here's my question: Have any of you ever experienced a ND? What did you do after the ND? Assuming no one is hurt, are you supposed to call the police? Will you be charged with discharging a firearm without proper justification in an area where discharging is prohibited? Is a ND likely to get your permit revoked in some states?

I am new to guns, and very new to carrying in general. Since carrying means that you will be routinely exposed to firearms, the chances of you making a ND go up (especially for newbies like myself without years of experience like many of you have).

I'm concerned that one of these days, one of the thousand times I'm handling my handgun, I'll make a mistake and forget/fail to exercise proper gun safety and a ND will happen. My question/concern is not to prevent an ND per se, but what happens after the ND has occurred? I read a state attorney from my home state, CT, who specializes in firearms cases state that having a ND is one of the best ways to get your permit revoked. This has got me thinking, and worried. In a state like mine, if the police/local issuing authority find you to be a person "unsuitable" to possess a permit they can revoke the permit from you. I'm sure a ND, if the police arrive at your home, could very well qualify as that attorney has cautioned. My home state of CT is not very gun friendly.