Defensive Carry banner

I need you guy's opinions

2K views 16 replies 16 participants last post by  fed_wif_a_sig 
#1 ·
I am a grad student and I will be starting an internship with a certain federal law enforcement agency in January. I'm wondering should I carry while I'm at the internship (not while I'm at work there, but when on my own time). The state the internship is in has reciprocity with TX, but I guess I'm concerned with how they will see me if I have to clear leather for any reason. Of course there will police if I do, and of course I have to tell them. And I don't want them to see me as some cowboy, but at the same time, my safety is of utmost importance. I want to work for this particular agency when I'm done with my education and the internship so I must be careful to make a good impression. Not sure how to proceed. When I went through the security interview I disclosed that I have a CHL, and they gave me some heartache for it until I could explain why I had one. And don't even get me started on when they asked me how many guns I had!!! Huge can of worms! I know your first reaction will be to say carry at all times, but keep in mind, this is my career we're talking about. I am just starting out, and I have a chance to work for an agency that has been a life's dream.

What do you guys think?

#2 ·
"but I guess I'm concerned with how they will see me if I have to clear leather for any reason."
Naturally I hope the way they will see you will be "alive" and healthy :yup:

Hopefully if you ever DO need to clear leather it will not be for any reason.
It will be because you honestly feel that you are in grave/mortal danger of losing your life.
In my humble opinion you'll not be of very much use to your dream agency if you are not alive and healthy.
So I would continue to carry. It's only logical.