Florida CCW Basics

This is a discussion on Florida CCW Basics within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have an AZ CCW permit and i am a resident of AZ. I will be traveling to Florida over the Thanksgiving Holiday. I am ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Florida CCW Basics

Florida CCW Basics

I have an AZ CCW permit and i am a resident of AZ. I will be traveling to Florida over the Thanksgiving Holiday. I am looking for the basic rules for carry in Florida. Can you carry in restaurants that serve alcohol? Store carry? Where can you not carry? Can you carry in a place that is posted? Just the basics. I plan to spend the holiday mostly with my family but may go out for dinner. I just want to stay safe and out of trouble.
    Next I may in the near future be relocating to Florida and was wondering how long after I move must I get a FL permit?
    Thanks in advance for the info.

Ed
    US Navy Retired Silent Service

The real test of a man is not when he plays the role he wants for himself, but when he plays the role destiny has for him.
    Vaclav Havel

2. Remove Ads

1943 - 2009
    I'm sure some of our Florida members will reply, but this should get you started:

http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/weapons/index.html

When you’re wounded and left on Afghanistan’s plains,
    And the women come out to cut up what remains,
    Just roll to your rifle and blow out your brains,
    And go to your God like a soldier.

Rudyard Kipling

Terry

Senior Moderator
    Here's the list of prohibited places, from F.S. 790.06:

(12) No license issued pursuant to this section shall authorize any person to carry a concealed weapon or firearm into
    • any place of nuisance as defined in s. 823.05;
    • any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station;
    • any detention facility, prison, or jail; any courthouse;