Exposed weapon!

This is a discussion on Exposed weapon! within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been carrying off and on for about 9 years now. I have always been very discreet and never had an incident where someone ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Exposed weapon!

Exposed weapon!

I have been carrying off and on for about 9 years now. I have always been very discreet and never had an incident where someone saw my weapon. But this week I have had 2 situations where my weapon was spotted.

The first was on Halloween night. My wife and I took our daughter to our friend’s parent’s house to trick or treat and they invited us in. I have been over before on numerous occasion and they are very nice people. And also very gun friendly. Their front room is full of trophies from various shooting competitions and the bathroom is always stocked full of gun related reading material. Despite this we never discussed CCW, I don’t know if they carry, and they certainly don’t know that I carry.
    I was sitting in their very comfy recliner. The cushions are thick and deep and I completely sunk in. When I stood up to leave my shirt some got pulled up and my weapon was completely exposed for everyone in the room to see. Awkward. Our friend questioned me as to why I was carrying, but the mom quickly interjected and said I was doing the right thing. She totally defended me. Not another word was spoken about it and we went on our way.

The second incident was last night. My wife and I decide to go to blockbuster to rent a film. I had my weapon strong side, outside the waist band in a belt holster. On my week side I had 2 extra mags outside the waist band in a Galco pouch. I had a t-shirt tucked in and a button down dress shirt that I left un-buttoned and un-tucked. My rig was totally concealed with no printing.