Mass Handgun Transport?

Mass Handgun Transport?

This is a discussion on Mass Handgun Transport? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have to travel from CT to NH tomorrow and obviously need to travel through the Peoples Republic of Massachusetts. I have permits for CT ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Distinguished Member Array CT-Mike's Avatar

Mass Handgun Transport?

I have to travel from CT to NH tomorrow and obviously need to travel through the Peoples Republic of Massachusetts. I have permits for CT and NH, but not Mass.

Am I legally able to transport the weapon through Mass, or not? I tried reading the State Gun laws, but it is hard to decipher.

Thanks,

Mike

As far as I understand it you would need the weapon secured in the trunk. I live in MA, but am not completely familiar with those laws. I'm also not a lawyer or anything so don't take my understanding for gospel.

Take care,

nasm

Well,

I will be driving a Wrangler so there is no trunk. I suppose I could lock it in the console.

From what I read on Wikipedia, storing the firearms in the trunk is only a preference. Since you don't have a trunk, maybe you could just put it somewhere that would be inaccessible while driving?

One idea would be locking a chain around an already locked box that use two different keys. Keep one on your keyring (in your ignition) and maybe lock the other in the glove box (or tape it to the outside of your car, the door of the fuel tank). I think this could at least show you made a good faith effort to make it difficult to quickly get to the ammo.

Maybe you should consider buying your ammo in New Hampshire? At least then you'd only be traveling with guns and ammo 50% of the time.

\\ACB
    Springfield XD 40 Tactical, Mossberg 590a1 12 gauge, Springfield MC Operator 1911