Moving - TN HCP Question
This is a discussion on Moving - TN HCP Question within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am currently a TN HCP holder and am moving to St Louis, MO.
I know that MO honors my TN permit. What I can't ...
November 20th, 2007 08:34 PM
Moving - TN HCP Question
I am currently a TN HCP holder and am moving to St Louis, MO.
I know that MO honors my TN permit. What I can't figure out is if I must surrender my TN permit upon moving since I awill no longer be a TN resident?
I will not be eligible to apply for a MO permit until I have been a resident for six months, so I would like to be able to carry with the TN permit as my legal backup, but I'm afraid that it could be illegal once I'm officially a MO resident. I will apply for my MO permit ASAP.
November 20th, 2007 09:05 PM
TN is one of the states MO recognizes. I think you would be OK until you get you MO permit.
MO requires a CCW class, a local records check and a full background check through the Highway Patrol. Total cost of $200 to $250 depending on the cost of the class.
November 21st, 2007 02:40 PM
Have to agree with DigitalExplr. Six months is the requirement to qualify you as a legal resident of the state and until then you are will be considered a TN resident which means your TN permit will be valid. Don't know if this would help, in case you did have to use your weapon, but as soon after you change your mailing address as possible I'd suggest taking the class for the MO permit then carry that with you. That way if you did have to defend yourself you could produce your TN permit and also the paperwork from the MO class and tell them you're just waiting the required six months to turn it in as a MO resident.
This does bring up a rather interesting point for the highly mobile society we have today. For things such as registering a vehicle/s or getting a new driver's license the law states a time period after you make the state your legal residence, usually defined as changing your mailing address, in which you have to get such things done, when it comes to a CCW you have to BE a resident for a minimum amount of time to get the permit. In other words a very anti-gun prosecutor could try to use the fact you are a legal resident of one state but still with a permit from another state, showing your mailing address in your old state, since you haven't met the minimum residency requirements in your new state, against you. And I think the way I worded that is about as clear as Mississippi River mud.
November 21st, 2007 05:12 PM
Does Tennessee allow you to keep your license if you have moved out of the state? Based on their web site, you must inform them that you have moved within 10 days of your change of residence.
I don't see anything here about if you move out of the state entirely though.
Just remember that shot placement is much more important with what you carry than how big a bang you get with each trigger pull.www.ddchl.com
Texas CHL Instructor
Texas Hunter Education Instructor
By jffirestone in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
Last Post: November 12th, 2010, 11:52 PM
By PRSOrator in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
Last Post: August 12th, 2010, 01:45 PM
By kavity in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
Last Post: August 14th, 2008, 09:42 PM
Search tags for this page
i have a tn carry permit can i surrender it in texas
is my tn hcp still good after i move out of state
surrender tn hcp if moving out of state
tennessee hcp move
tennessee hcp moved out of state
tennessee hcp wait 2012
tn hcp address change
tn hcp out of state
validity of tn hcp when relocating to another state
where can i go out of state with my tn gun.hcp
Click on a term to search for related topics.