Moving - TN HCP Question

This is a discussion on Moving - TN HCP Question within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am currently a TN HCP holder and am moving to St Louis, MO. I know that MO honors my TN permit. What I can't ...

Thread: Moving - TN HCP Question

Moving - TN HCP Question

I am currently a TN HCP holder and am moving to St Louis, MO.

I know that MO honors my TN permit. What I can't figure out is if I must surrender my TN permit upon moving since I awill no longer be a TN resident?

I will not be eligible to apply for a MO permit until I have been a resident for six months, so I would like to be able to carry with the TN permit as my legal backup, but I'm afraid that it could be illegal once I'm officially a MO resident. I will apply for my MO permit ASAP.

Any advice?

2. Remove Ads

Senior Member Array digitalexplr's Avatar
    TN is one of the states MO recognizes. I think you would be OK until you get you MO permit.

MO requires a CCW class, a local records check and a full background check through the Highway Patrol. Total cost of $200 to $250 depending on the cost of the class.

Have to agree with DigitalExplr. Six months is the requirement to qualify you as a legal resident of the state and until then you are will be considered a TN resident which means your TN permit will be valid. Don't know if this would help, in case you did have to use your weapon, but as soon after you change your mailing address as possible I'd suggest taking the class for the MO permit then carry that with you. That way if you did have to defend yourself you could produce your TN permit and also the paperwork from the MO class and tell them you're just waiting the required six months to turn it in as a MO resident.