Concealed Carry at School

This is a discussion on Concealed Carry at School within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey everyone, This is my first post here and I checked to see if there was a similar thread anywhere but didn't see one. I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Concealed Carry at School

Hey everyone,
    This is my first post here and I checked to see if there was a similar thread anywhere but didn't see one. I hope I'm not duplicating an earlier discussion. If so please forgive my transgression.

I am currently a public high school teacher in Florida. Within the last week a student apparently brandished a gun at a high school across town from us, prompting a lockdown that came hours too late and wouldn't have helped anyone. Obviously, schools are well known as "Safe Zones" for dangerous felons and those that aspire to become so.

My question is, apart from our government suddenly having an epiphany regarding the 2nd Amendment, does anyone know of any way at all (reserve police, etc) that I can get qualified to carry concealed at my school?

I appreciate your taking the time to respond.

Mel
    The Ethics of Liberty
    LewRockwell.com
    The Survival Podcast
    How long have we watered the Tree of Deceit with the blood of patriots?

Mel:

Checking the FL statutes page, for ch 790.115, carry on campus is verboten except for a very short list of LEO-related positions. Auxiliaries (reserves?) appear to be okay, but only while under the direct supervision of an active, full LEO.

I'm sure a knowledgable person from FL will chime in.
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, SAF, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.

Senior Member Array digitalexplr's Avatar