Question on carrying while traveling on vacation

This is a discussion on Question on carrying while traveling on vacation within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Alright, have been doing some reading and think I've come to a correct conclusion but wanted to make sure my logic is right. I'm a ...

Thread: Question on carrying while traveling on vacation

Question on carrying while traveling on vacation

Alright, have been doing some reading and think I've come to a correct conclusion but wanted to make sure my logic is right.

I'm a FL resident and am waiting on my concealed permit which should be arriving in the next week or so. During the Christmas break the wife and I are taking a little trip and driving up to North Carolina for some skiing and will be driving through Florida (of course), Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina.

Out of those the only state that doesn't recognize FL's CWP is South Carolina, but after some reading it seems that they allow you to keep a loaded handgun in a closed glovebox even without a permit.

So if I'm correct, is it alright for me to carry my gun concealed on me while driving through Florida and Georgia, and then when I get to South Carolina just keep the gun in the glovebox, and then can conceal again once I'm in North Carolina?

I've looked at the Federal provisions for interstate travel, but in this case it doesn't seem like that's applicable since I'll be relying on the concealed carry laws of the individual states?

I guess only other question was interstate rest stops.... are they just treated like any other "public" place in these states in regards to concealed carry? With the exception of S. Carolina where I wouldn't be able to anyway.

Thanks in advance for any insight. Can be a little tricky to sort out what is what, especially when trying to reconcile what you read on different forums vs. what the law actually says.

2. Remove Ads