Owning a gun

This is a discussion on Owning a gun within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have a buddy of mine that in his younger days (18) he got into a little bit of trouble. Went to court and got ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Owning a gun

Owning a gun

I have a buddy of mine that in his younger days (18) he got into a little bit of trouble. Went to court and got chraged with criminal mischief and later (21) got a parden by the Governor of Louisiana.

With that parden would he be able to get his ccw and own a handgun in his house?
    “Do you have any idea how hard it would be to live with yourself if your loved ones were attacked and killed, and you had to stand there helplessly because you were unprepared for that day?”

Ricardo

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array morintp's Avatar
    I'm not a lawyer, but I would think a pardon clears his record and he would be allowed to own and carry a gun with the proper local permits.

He should be able to. When the pardon is given I believe they expunge the conviction from his record.

Possibly, but there is a chance there could be a Federal hold up. Can he legally buy a gun by satisfying the NICS check. If yes, I'd say he's good to go, but I'm not a attorney. I'd talk to an attorney on this.
    Les Baer 45
    Sig Man
    N.R.A. Patron Life Member
    M.C.R.G.O.

Be sure to tell him to hang on to any and ALL paper work, including any court documents and it is possible later in life this may come back to haunt him..I am going through a similar thing right now..the FBI has cleared me, I have a letter from the Board of Prisons that state I never was a Felon but for some STUPID reason, the "arresting agency" has me in their system as a felon, which I am not..has been a thorn in my side for years..if only I had kept my court papers. (btw, am in the process of trying to get that fixed, it may work, then it may not..we'll see)