Teaching the Young

This is a discussion on Teaching the Young within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a youth pastor and today I spent some time with one of our High School youth kids. But it was not what most ...

Thread: Teaching the Young

me [OP]

Teaching the Young

I am a youth pastor and today I spent some time with one of our High School youth kids. But it was not what most ministers get the chance to do with a student. Today I taught a 14/15 year old young man how to be a responsible gun owner. His Father passed on a few months ago and left him "everything but the bills" This includes a Rossi 38 and Raven 25 and a shotgun.

He asked me to teach him how to take care of them and how to shoot as his father had been sick for some time and was unable to teach him. He and I will be going to the range next week but today I had the opportunity to purchase for him a cleaning kit and teach him how to use it. I taught him pistol cleaning today and the Boy Scouts are teaching him Shotgun soon.

I was most impressed that he wants to be a responsible gun owner. He is a good kid and one you all would be proud of. I am glad I have had the opportunity to get to know him over the last 6 months since he has come to us.

It was a good day.
    Mark

"The world is filled with violence. Because criminals carry guns, we decent law-abiding citizens should also have guns. Otherwise they will win and the decent people will lose."

-James Earl Jones

2. Remove Ads

Good job. We had the youth group and our pastor out to my parents house a while back and taught them all how to shoot clays.

It was great fun and they all enjoyed it.

It's good to help kids understand that guns are not inherently bad and how to safely handle them. It's also good of you to help this young man who needs someone to learn from.

God bless.
    When you've got 'em by the balls, their hearts & minds will follow. Semper Fi.