Things that go bump....

Things that go bump....

This is a discussion on Things that go bump.... within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm relatively new to firearms. I just got into guns over the past half year. Thanks to several good local friends, I've tried a bunch ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Things that go bump....

Things that go bump....

I'm relatively new to firearms. I just got into guns over the past half year. Thanks to several good local friends, I've tried a bunch of different pistols and revolvers. I bought my first gun in November for target practice - a Ruger New Model Single Six stainless with a 6 1/2" barrel. Hardly the most practical house gun, but that's not what it was intended for. But I do keep the magnum cylinder loaded with CCI Maxi Mag HP's, just in case. Well, last night was a "just in case" situation...

My wife and I were eating dinner around 6:00 when we heard a loud slam on the front door. It sounded like someone, or something very large, hit the door. After that happened, I heard the storm door close, which made me conclude that at least the storm door was opened before whatever it was hit the inside door.

I took a 7 hour defensive handgun training class only 3 weeks ago, partly as a requirement to join a local range. When I heard the slam on the door, instinctively I went to grab my gun. All the training I received came back to me instantly, how to hold, how to cover, what to think about, etc. I looked outside through the windows to see if there was anything or anyone there, but didn't see anything. At that point, with my gun in hand, I opened the door to look around. I saw absolutely nothing.