BGs in Church...a What if...?

This is a discussion on BGs in Church...a What if...? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; As some of you know, I am a Pastor in FL. After all the discussions with malls in NE and churches/ministry-related settings in CO and ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: BGs in Church...a What if...?

BGs in Church...a What if...?

As some of you know, I am a Pastor in FL.

After all the discussions with malls in NE and churches/ministry-related settings in CO and just the state of things in general, I had a strange Christmas Eve.

With attendance roughly 1.5 times the normal, there were LOTS of new people (i.e., unknown to me). With everything there was to do to be ready for 2 services, I found myself VERY aware of the new people and the potential for something very bad happening.

Multiple entrances. Night time. Very crowded. Every backstop was flesh and blood. The twist, both historically, and currently, came when I thought of what some traditions call 'The Massacre of the Innocents.' This was when Herod, the king, had all the boy babies 2 years old and under killed in his attempt to stop the threat that a newborn king would pose to his continuing to reign.

I just realized what a nightmare it would be should/when something like that ever happen. This was, for me, a somewhat startling observation this Christmas season. I am not asking a question as much as reflecting a little with others who I knew would understand.

Thanks for being there. You all have taught me much already.
    He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. - Jim Elliott

The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member
    Tis a grand thing that MOST people are good hearted and good natured, but it does make one think.

Z