Defensive Carry banner

Armed Type I diabetic

5K views 38 replies 19 participants last post by  NCHornet 
#1 ·
I have had my carry permit for about a year now and have been an insulin dependent, type I diabetic since 1965. I have been wearing an insulin pump for about 4 years which really helps me with better control. The bad thing is that I am extremely hypoglycemic tolerant which means that I function well when my blood sugar is much, much, lower than normal.

Lately, my wife has been showing concern for me when my blood sugar is low and I'm armed (a round in the pipe). If I have an episode at home, in bed, before fetching the orange juice, she closes the box that my loaded gun is in. I guess she's afraid that I am going to grab the gun and shoot someone, maybe even myself.

I'm pretty convinnced that she is being overly paranoid because, during these episodes I am very aware of my surroundings and what is going on but, my motor skills are severely compromised (some of you know what I mean). I would never, knowing my blood sugar was low, reach for my gun. I've told her that but, she's pulled me out of some bad ones and it scares her.

The reason for this post is to find out what other insulin dependent diabetics are out there (I know you are) and what your experieneces have taught you.

My biggest fear would be to get pulled over by the law when I'm hypoglycemic and carrying. I wonder how the law would deal with that?

See less See more
#2 ·
My two near life long old friends are both type 1 diabetics. I have over the years seen both have ''hypo's'' many times - more in early years but even since too. I am looking back some 50 years or more.