Condition 2

This is a discussion on Condition 2 within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to concealed carry and have to tell you, condition 1 seems scarry when I am holstering my 1911 style CDP. I have carried ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Condition 2

Condition 2

I'm new to concealed carry and have to tell you, condition 1 seems scarry when I am holstering my 1911 style CDP.
    I have carried OWB while hunting nad on occasions but always with Condition 2 [hammer on half cock, round in chamber] and it doesn't take much to go to condition one.
    Thought I might review with you guys and see if others do the same or I am just being overly cautious.
    Seems, the last person I want to shoot is me.
    Best wishes.

2. Remove Ads

Lead Moderator
    I am against cond. 2 . Having to cock the gun risks a hammer drop if your thumb slips. Also is your grip a good one while cocking? You cannot have the safety on with the hammer down.
    I would suggest carrying the gun around empty in the house for a few days and trying cond 1carry. I think you will find it better in the long run.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

If you are uncomfortable with condition 1 (cocked and locked) then i would consider a different pistol. the 1911 system is one that needs to be carried in condition 1, the safty will not come off and you will not shoot your self if it does the trigger wont move unless you grip the grip safty and pull the trigger. there is no reason to be scared of condition 1, practice with it and get some training and condition 1 will be as safe if not safer then any other type of action you will carry.
    When the dust settles only the prepared will survive.

NRA LIFE MEMBER

remember the only thing common about common sense is that its not that common